Hovingham League 2016

2016 Presentation Dinner

47 people attended the annual presentation dinner at The Worsley Arms, Hovingham, on 10-October-2016. Prize-winners were as follows:

1.   Special Award to the Brotherton Cup organiser, Tony Howat.

2.   The Brotherton Cup winners: Ellen Strabel & Rob Proudley (Alne A)

3.   Oldest regular pair (137 years): Ed Hope & Robert Brech (Alne B).

4.    Ladies' Cup: Terrington.

5.    Junior Player of the Year: Charlie Price, Alne B

6.    Knock-out Cup. Kirkbymoorside A

7.    Special award to captain of Terrington A and B, Saint Zoe Browne

8.    Division 3 Cup: Ryedale (unbeaten)

9.    Division 2 Cup: Wigginton A

10.  Most league games scored in 2016: Rowan Ward & Paul Young (Kirkbymoorside A) with 233.

11 . Division 1 Cup: Hovingham A (unbeaten). Their first Division 1 win for 41 years.


2016 Brotherton Cup Results:

1st: Ellen Strabel & Rob Proudley (Alne A)

2nd: Rowan Ward & Paul Young (Kirkby A)

=3rd: Teena Gallon & Neil Hawkins (Alne A)

=3rd: Sally Banks (Raskelf A) & Alec Mosey (Hovingham B)


Hovingham League Ellen.Rob cropped

2016.07.18 Rowan and Paul


Pairs scores winners (233 games in the league season) are Rowan (dark glasses) & Paul (Kirkby A).

Ellen (pink top) & Rob (Alne A) fell one game behind (232 games) but won the Brotherton Cup.