Hovingham League 2017

2017 Presentation Dinner

A record 69 people attended the annual presentation dinner at the Durham Ox, Crayke, on 16-October-2017. Prize-winners were as follows:

1.   Special Award to the Brotherton Cup organiser, Tony Howat

2.   The Brotherton Cup winners: Stephanie and Giles Bilton (Hovingham A)

3.   Ladies' Cup: Kirkbymoorside B

4.   Youngest regular pair (34 years): Clara and Ed Reeves (Malton)

5.    League Division 3 Cup : Terrington B

6.    Knock-out Cup: Kirkbymoorside A

7.    Special award to Dennis Myers (non-playing captain of Alne B) for his unswerving support for the league and its teams

8.    Junior Player of the Year: Tom Jones (Raskelf). Other juniors mentioned in despatches were Emily McDonald (Alne),

       Jude Dixon, Clara Reeves & Evie Ellis (Malton), Lucas Histon (Pickering), Annabel Ellis (Raskelf) and Emily Johnson (Tollerton).

9.    Most games scored in 2017: Alison Myers & Jude Dixon with 215

10.   Heroes Award. Turned out for all 18 matches but still got lowest points: Viv Cooper and Raskelf C 

11.   Division 2 Cup: Terrington A (unbeaten)

12 . Division 1 Cup: Kirkbymoorside A.

 Kirkbymoorside winners

 Kirkbymoorside celebrate their three trophies


2017 Brotherton Cup Results

The Brotherton Cup Results: 

Winners: Stephanie Bilton & Giles Bilton (Hovingham) 

Runners-up: Suzi Scott-Rix & Steve Broughton (Alne) 

Semi-finalists: Sarah Smelik & Nick Bentley (Coxwold); Lynn Mansfield & Jamie Fewster (Pickering).